Thursday, June 01, 2006

In Which Our Hero... [mix ten]

The good news is, I liked this mix so much that I'm actually gonna try not to half-ass this post. That doesn't mean it won't be half-assed. The mp3s will be available whichever way is simplest, easiest, and of the least amount taxing to my brain. (Probably links to some free online crapdump.) The mp3s will be available. For fucking once, right right.

Moving along, the "structural concept" of this mix is based on a Matmos album, I think. To accomodate this structure I have not been including the artists or song titles with distributed physical copies of this mix. However the files at the end of the links own their proper names and the """real tracklist""" is listed here at the bottom of this entry, hidden in this same ridiculous primitive style. I've taken the liberty of further insulting the conceit by modifying it in a particularly tasteless and brute fashion, as you'll see.

"In Which Our Hero..." also has a plot. I've tried basic, easy plots in the past, shit like "party night, start to finish!!!" and "birthday party!" and "dance mix #462" you know, crap. Woo! Wooooo! No no no, I've moved on to something a bit deeper, something you shouldn't put on before you go out. This is something you put on when you know you're not going out for the next few nights, like for the next few months.

I give you a "breakup mix" just for the hell of it. Enjoy!

In Which Our Hero...

  1. Has A Nightmare.

  2. Wakes, & Remembers the Night Before, Why She Left.

  3. Regrets Asking Her To Leave

  4. Mutters A Sad "Fuck It" To Himself & Vows To Move On

  5. Tries To Move On. Tries & Tries & Tries & Tries.

  6. Is Blue, & Unwell.

  7. Considers A Change, Considers A Monastery.

  8. Gets Himself Together, Man, & Rededicates His Love of Women.

  9. Meets The Girl of His Dreams, Unexpectedly.

  10. Has A Grand Old Time

  11. Starts The Process All Over Again

God, it's sooo sad! It's utterly ridiculous, on its face, it stinks like 6pm armpits, and it has no heart. Were this mix human, it would be 17 years old & emo. It's funny, really. But listen to it. It moved me on a Mexican rooftop in the middle of the night. I was lucky I didn't fall off and, like, die.

This is so embarassing. Ok, here's the tracklist, all ninja I CHANGED MY TEMPLATE AND AM A LAZY MAN:

01. How Do I Know - Akron/Family
02. Weather Systems - Andrew Bird
03. Make It Hot - Mirah
04. Girl In The War - Josh Ritter
05. Metarie - Brendan Benson
06. Peach, Plum, Pear - Joanna Newsom
07. My Sister Said - Angels of Light
08. Promise - Black Rebel Motorcycle Club
09. Hello Sunshine - Super Furry Animals
10. Just Like Betty Page - The Jazz Butcher
11. For Me - Mara Carlyle

You coulda just read your browser bar mousing over the links listed above, but no, I just had to make sure there was some wacky gadget going on the whole time. Motherfucking wicked.

Also, just to be totally transparent, I'm claiming that this mix, its format, and its theme are in no way related to any recent romantic turmoil I may or may not have experienced, and suspecting the opposite. And there's a really obvious weather sub-theme or whatever. Whatever.

No comments: